Skip to content

Crafty Gifts

August 4, 2011

Hello, blimey is it Thursday already? Where has this week gone? Do you remember last week i posted my first attempt at screen printing at home? Well it wasn’t just for fun you know! It was part of a gift for my friends birthday. I knew i wanted to make her something, but i always like to make something that’s practical as well as nice to look at. Her and her little family are off camping this weekend so i thought a couple of laundry/storage bags would be good. So out came my trusty Lisa Stickley book.

Her laundry bag project is easy to follow and you can adjust the sizes proportionally to create bigger or smaller bags. I then picked out some fabrics from my ever growing stash (poor hubby!) that i thought suited my friend.

She wears a lot of red so i thought this would be perfect. I also wanted to do a bit of screen printing and I spotted the pattern in one of my birthday printing books (second from top on the pile ) so i readapted it a bit to work on a smaller bag.

 

Voila! A couple of handy laundry/storage bags, the larger has a lined striped pocket and the smaller features the screen printed fabric and a striped reverse.

I also fancied adding a little name tag, embroidery would have been nice but i didn’t have the time. So, i routed out a stamping kit and used fabric paint to stamp my friends name onto fabric and machine stitched it to the pocket. Packaged it up and it has safely arrived in London before the camping begins!

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 10:08 pm

    that first book looks delicious! i will look it up… your stripy bag is so beautiful. well done, i really love it. i’m totally inspired..

    great blog!
    x

    • louiserastall permalink*
      August 8, 2011 7:51 pm

      Thankyou! Yes, the Lisa Stickley book is really good – i’ve made a few things out of it and all have worked really well.

Leave a Reply

